chown -R $(whoami): *

So, Open Classifieds wasn’t the way to go as it wasn’t as customizable as I expected and all of the nice features were premium.

Finally I came across what I was looking for: Osclass

You can think of Osclass as “the WordPress of classified sites”, it’s an open source project, with lots of contributors and an active community. It supports many themes and plugins and its code is fairy easy to understand if you want to get your hands dirty.

So after a lot (and I mean a lot) of playing with it, changing things, changing code and learning a little of PHP and jQuery I could put together sysarmy’s marketplace: Chownealo.

Chownealo (“chown it”) was born because people were posting things they wanted to sell in our IRC channel and Whatsapp group, or asking via Twitter or Facebook if we could share their listings.

Me, and some other members of the community, thought it would be nice to have a centralized place were we could post whatever we wanted and have it featured there and in several of our networks (IRC, Twitter, Facebook, Planet, etc)

So, that’s what Chownealo is, just another place to show people (specially sysarmy members) what you are selling. It’s not another OLX or MercadoLibre (I wish it was !)

 

Will it succeed ? I’ve no idea, it depends on how many people start using it and how much I can keep up with that.

What’s important for me ?

  1. sysarmy has a new marketplace
  2. sysarmy keeps growing
  3. I made my first public PR to an open source project
  4. I shared many of the things and solutions I came with in Osclass forums
  5. I’m selling this laptop

 

I want to thank Jorge, Maxi and Alan, who helped me along the process and contributed with many hours and lines of code.

Leave a comment